Odisha: All eyes are now on next generation leaders Priyadarshi Mishra, Bhrugu Baxipatra, Rohit Pujari, others

10155750_751314368236146_3177310402597791289_nBhubaneswar: Fate of candidates trying their luck for 147 Assembly and 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha will be floored next week on May 16. Accordingly all eyes are now on some young turks fielded by different political parties especially by Ruling BJD and oppositions Congress and BJP.
Breaking the tradition of conventional politics this General Election would see some young masses begin their stint in Assembly and lower house of the Parliament, if predictions of political pundits go right.
Among the prominent young contenders who have made their political debut this elections and ready to hit the bull’s eye are Priyadarshi Mishra (BJD), Bhrugu Baxipatra (BJP), Akash Dasnayak (BJD), Rohit Pujari (BJD), Arkesh Singhdeo (BJD), Debesh Acharya (BJD) Ollywood comedian Tatwa Prakash Satpathy alias Papu Pom Pom (BJD), Sangram Jena (Congress).
After failing in his first attempt in 2009, Priyadarshi has succeeded to get a BJD ticket this time to contest from Bhubaneswar Central Assembly seat. He is said to be having a very strong hold in this prestigious constituency which was earlier owned by Bhagirathi Badjena. He is trying his luck from Bhubaneswar North seat this elections. Priyadarshi Mishra is a close confident of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. CM Patnaik like his dynamic leadership abilities and appreciated his involvement in movement to set up IIT Bhbubaneswar, NISER Bhubaneswar , his initiative to popularize Bhubaneswar as top business destination and others. BJD insiders and his supporters hope Mishra will get important berth in new government of Naveen led council of Ministers.
Another young dynamic youth leader is Sambalpur district BJD president Rohit Pujari who is contesting assembly election from Bargarh assembly seat. The dashing youth leader Rohit Pujari brought life to almost sleeping BJD in district by winning Sambalpur Zilla Parisad wich astonished the opponent BJP & Congress.

Another candidate and Ollywood star Akash Danayak contesting from Korei seat on a BJD ticket. Akash is very much hopeful of debuting his political innings basing on his acting career.
Another young gun Debesh Acharya from BJD facing a litmus test in the ensuing elections in Bargarh Assembly seat. Debesh is the son of former minister and senior BJD leader Ananda Acharya and nephew of Finance Minister Prasanna Acharya.
State BJP general secretary Bhrugu Baxipatra facing uphill task from the prestigious Jeypore Assembly seat. Baxipatra was appreciated by the national leadership of party after he successfully organized rally of Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi at Bhubaneswar on February 11. He was the convener of the rally.
“Politics is not just experience but physical strength and will power. If the senior leaders want to serve the country, let the young mass into politics and share their experience to guide the juniors,” said Pravakar Champati, a political science student of Utkal University.
US based entrepreneur, philanthropist and Socialite Dhirendra Kar said that leadership is about having a vision that others can believe in, and about having personal integrity, humility and empathy, so that the multiple stakeholders you are answerable to can trust you and collectively embark on the journey with you. Leadership is also about time-management and actual execution, making things happen. He pointed that above youth leaders of Odisha has these abilities and can take forward Odisha to next level.
“Performance of Priyadarshi Mishra in politics and social service is incredible and we have been witness to his integrity, hard work and dedication to his profession. We support his candidature from Bhubaneswar North as an dynamic individual,” said US based entrepreneur, philanthropist and Socialite Dhirendra Kar.
There are more young contestants who may not be able to grab the lime light but remains in the talk of the political corridor.
Biswa Ranjan Mohanty contesting from the Nimapada Assembly segment on a Congress ticket is known as a close aide of AICC general secretary Rahul Gandhi. Mohanty is expected to give a tough fight to heavy weights of BJP and ruling BJD.
Similarly another candidate Prashant Jagdev contesting from traditional seat Begunia has been guided as a strong candidate of BJD. He contested from this seat in 2004 General Elections.
The ruling BJD has been on a winning streak in the state polls, but the main opposition Congress and BJP are hoping to turn the tables through their mismatch of senior and young candidates. BJD has topped the list of fielding young turks besides some sitting youth MLAs this elections in Odisha.
Sangram Jena, son of State Congress President Jaydev Jena managed to get a Lok Sabha ticket for Bhadrak seat. If political experts are to be believed Sangram has the best chances to snatch this seat from five time MP and senior BJD leader Arjun Sethi.
Hrudananda Senapati, a retired professor of Political Science said, “Politicians should take retirement after they cross 70 and pave way for the next generation of leaders. Being a Member of Parliament and legislature comes with a lot of responsibility and it is very difficult for aged politicians to work with commitment.”

Author Description

OdishaInc Bureau